Bukobot 3D Printer Forum

News: Added the Bukobot Parts List (BOM) to Wiki at http://bukobot.com/bukobot-parts-list
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Author Topic: Dumb Question(s)  (Read 1251 times)

Mark

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 32
    • View Profile
Dumb Question(s)
« on: March 17, 2013, 12:37:12 AM »
Rookie to 3D printing.

I plugged in printer to Mac.  Got blue lights on controller card.  Opened Repeiter Host.  Connected printer (virtual whatever).

And now what?  I tried lots of things but NOTHING happened.  Tried turning on extruder.  Software said it went up to 185c as directed. (the little aluminum block is cold).  Put all the settings in like the Wiki said.  Is there a way to move the printer head around via the computer to see if the thing is working?

tried restarting everything.  same.  nada.

Also, as for steps to print: 1. find a STL file. 2. open slicr and slice it to generate the gcode. 3. open that file in Repeiter host. 4. Print.   ???????

Would be super helpful if Bukobot provided detailed step by step instructions on how to print for beginners.

whosawhatsis

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 598
    • View Profile
    • Whosawhatsis on G+
Re: Dumb Question(s)
« Reply #1 on: March 17, 2013, 12:50:55 AM »
The problem is the "virtual whatever" part. You're not connected to a printer, you're simulating being connected to a printer. Open printer settings and select the correct item in the port dropdown. the correct one should look something like this "usbserial-AH015CN8" (the 8-character string is a unique identifier on each FTDI chip).

Mark

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 32
    • View Profile
Re: Dumb Question(s)
« Reply #2 on: March 17, 2013, 01:14:26 AM »
That would work if I had those choices in the port drop down.  I'm on a mac.  USB plugged in. All power on. Only drop down port options are:
None
Bluetooth PDA-Synch
Bluetooth - Modem
Virtual

Any suggestions?




whosawhatsis

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 598
    • View Profile
    • Whosawhatsis on G+
Re: Dumb Question(s)
« Reply #3 on: March 17, 2013, 01:20:49 AM »
Have you installed the FTDI driver? http://www.ftdichip.com/Drivers/VCP.htm

Mark

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 32
    • View Profile
Re: Dumb Question(s)
« Reply #4 on: March 17, 2013, 01:43:25 AM »
OK.  did that.  chose the new port.  thank you!!!!!  told ya these were dumb questions.

Set the settings.  When I hit home it moves around a smidge - head positions front left corner.  z stop clicks.

Is there a way to move the print head around via the computer?

sorry for all these questions.


whosawhatsis

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 598
    • View Profile
    • Whosawhatsis on G+
Re: Dumb Question(s)
« Reply #5 on: March 17, 2013, 01:52:50 AM »
The buttons with positive and negative numbers next to the home buttons are jog controls. You can use them to move around manually.

Mark

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 32
    • View Profile
Re: Dumb Question(s)
« Reply #6 on: March 17, 2013, 02:00:15 AM »
Yeah that's what I thought.  I get this when I hit any of those:  < 8:57:25 PM: Printer stopped due to errors. Fix the error and use M999 to restart!. (Temperature is reset. Set it before restarting)

M999?  where & how would I use M999?

Again, really apologize for these stupid questions.

whosawhatsis

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 598
    • View Profile
    • Whosawhatsis on G+
Re: Dumb Question(s)
« Reply #7 on: March 17, 2013, 02:10:40 AM »
There's no button for M999. That error means that you have a loose thermistor connection. Marlin panics when it can't read an extruder thermistor because that means it can't control the heat and it may reach unsafe temperatures. Check your wiring.

Mark

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 32
    • View Profile
Re: Dumb Question(s)
« Reply #8 on: March 17, 2013, 02:38:01 AM »
Ok.  I checked extruder thermistor connection at printer head bridge with Multimeter and its 4.47v.  Fan voltage on the bridge is 12.02v and heater terminals showing 0v.  so clearly I've messed something up.

when I put multimeter on terminals on the controller card in the heated bed 1 as well as the extruder 1:  I get 0 volts.  This is all on the controller card.
Have I missed a jumper on something?

There is 12v going into the card at the terminals.  Blue LEDs on.

When I do figure it out.  The Error message say M999 to reset.  Where do I plug in M999 to reset - is there an area to input this code somewhere?


whosawhatsis

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 598
    • View Profile
    • Whosawhatsis on G+
Re: Dumb Question(s)
« Reply #9 on: March 17, 2013, 03:09:49 AM »
Just push the blue reset button on the controller board, next to the USB socket. No need to type in M999.

Those readings all sound right. My guess is that the wires are loose in the screw terminals on the X carriage terminal block, and the connection is breaking when you try to jog the axis. Unscrew the terminals, take the wires out, put them back in and screw them back down. You need a reliable connection on all of the wires.

Mark

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 32
    • View Profile
Re: Dumb Question(s)
« Reply #10 on: March 17, 2013, 03:10:30 PM »
reconnected wires.  checked all connections.  Plus yesterday when I checked EEPROM settings it displayed a bunch of stuff.  Today nothing shows up.
Tried restarting printer and software, unhooking USB, shutting down Mac. 

I keep getting this error below.  (note: I only have one Extruder and the error below last line says 2?)  could that be it? How would I change that if that is the case?

Log:

  9:44:18 AM: Attempting to connect to printer
  9:44:18 AM: Connection opened
< 9:44:19 AM: start
< 9:44:19 AM: echo: External Reset
< 9:44:19 AM: Marlin 1.0.0
< 9:44:19 AM: echo: Last Updated: 2012-10-11 | Author: Deezmaker
< 9:44:19 AM: echo: Free Memory: 4574  PlannerBufferBytes: 1232
< 9:44:19 AM: echo:Using Default settings:
< 9:44:19 AM: echo:Steps per unit:
< 9:44:19 AM: echo:  M92 X55.99 Y55.99 Z3200.00 E1260.00
< 9:44:19 AM: echo:Maximum feedrates (mm/s):
< 9:44:19 AM: echo:  M203 X500.00 Y500.00 Z3.50 E45.00
< 9:44:19 AM: echo:Maximum Acceleration (mm/s2):
< 9:44:19 AM: echo:  M201 X800 Y800 Z100 E10000
< 9:44:19 AM: echo:Acceleration: S=acceleration, T=retract acceleration
< 9:44:19 AM: echo:  M204 S3000.00 T3000.00
< 9:44:19 AM: echo:Advanced variables: S=Min feedrate (mm/s), T=Min travel feedrate (mm/s), B=minimum segment time (ms), X=maximum xY jerk (mm/s),  Z=maximum Z jerk (mm/s)
< 9:44:19 AM: echo:  M205 S0.00 T0.00 B20000 X15.00 Z0.40 E5.00
< 9:44:19 AM: echo:Home offset (mm):
< 9:44:19 AM: echo:  M206 X0.00 Y0.00 Z0.00
< 9:44:19 AM: echo:PID settings:
< 9:44:19 AM: echo:   M301 P87.89 I3.88 D664.28
< 9:44:20 AM: Error:1
< 9:44:20 AM: : Extruder switched off. MINTEMP triggered !
< 9:44:20 AM: Error:Printer stopped due to errors. Fix the error and use M999 to restart!. (Temperature is reset. Set it before restarting)
< 9:44:22 AM: echo:SD init fail
< 9:44:22 AM: FIRMWARE_NAME:Marlin V1; Sprinter/grbl mashup for gen6 FIRMWARE_URL:http://www.mendel-parts.com PROTOCOL_VERSION:1.0 MACHINE_TYPE:Mendel EXTRUDER_COUNT:2

whosawhatsis

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 598
    • View Profile
    • Whosawhatsis on G+
Re: Dumb Question(s)
« Reply #11 on: March 18, 2013, 02:17:04 AM »
Sounds like you got one of the X3s that got shipped out in vanilla kits without being reprogrammed for a single extruder. You can get the single extruder version here: http://bukobot.com/bukobot-marlin-configuration

Mark

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 32
    • View Profile
Re: Dumb Question(s)
« Reply #12 on: March 18, 2013, 02:40:31 AM »
BINGO!!!!!

all seems to be moving just fine now.  On to printing tomorrow.  THANK YOU!!!!

Just so I know the right basic steps.
Download a .stl file from somewhere.
Open it in slicr to create the gcode.
Open Repetier Host, open the newly sliced gcode.
Load up the PLA
check all my settings
print the sucker.

whosawhatsis

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 598
    • View Profile
    • Whosawhatsis on G+
Re: Dumb Question(s)
« Reply #13 on: March 18, 2013, 03:20:29 AM »
That will work, but it's usually easier to open the STL in Repetier host, switch to the slicer tab and choose your slic3r presets (which you should have already installed from http://bukobot.com/host-slicing-settings) and click the big "slice with slic3r" button. This will automatically load the gcode once slic3r finishes, and you can then "print the sucker".

Mark

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 32
    • View Profile
Re: Dumb Question(s)
« Reply #14 on: April 14, 2013, 05:27:28 PM »
So I've been printing and seems to be working fine  - except one thing which I'm sure I've done something wrong.  The first layer is more of an imprint pressed into the blue tape than a trail of actual PLA.  Clearly I have something set too low or close to the the bed.  Can't quite figure out what to change to make it a smidge higher.  Rookie mistake.  any suggestions?




 

BloQcs design by Bloc
SMF 2.0.3 | SMF © 2011, Simple Machines