Bukobot 3D Printer Forum

Software Installation & Setup => Firmware => Topic started by: Steps2light on April 20, 2013, 01:18:33 AM

Title: Uploading Firmware to New X1 Board
Post by: Steps2light on April 20, 2013, 01:18:33 AM
I am getting this message in the Marlin 1.0.4...I don't see a Sanguino mega 1284 option in the BOARD menu.

IN the "Bukobot how to install page" it says to use Arduino IDE....What I get is Arduino 1.0.4...Is that the same thing?

#ifndef MOTHERBOARD
  #ifdef __AVR_ATmega1284P__
    #define MOTHERBOARD 62
  #else
    #ifdef __AVR_ATmega2560__
      #define MOTHERBOARD 34
    #else
      #error Oops!  Make sure you have 'Sanguino W/ ATmega1284p 16mhz' for an X1 or 'Arduino Mega 2560' for an X3 selected from the 'Tools -> Boards' menu.
    #endif
/pins.h:1136:2 error Unknown Motherboard value in Configuration
Title: Re: Uploading Firmware to New X1 Board
Post by: whosawhatsis on April 20, 2013, 03:10:43 AM
You need to install the Sanguino support files included with Marlin.

Make sure you have the current version from here: https://github.com/whosawhatsis/Marlin/archive/Bukobot_config.zip

Go to the ArduinoAddons->Arduino_1.x.x folder, and copy the sanguino folder to the hardware folder inside your arduino sketchbook folder (you may need to create the hardware folder if it doesn't already exist).

Also, there seem to be some bugs with Marlin, Sanguino, and Arduino 1.0.4, so I suggest using 1.0.3 instead for now.
Title: Re: Uploading Firmware to New X1 Board
Post by: Steps2light on April 21, 2013, 04:20:07 AM
I uploaded the New X1 in Arduino App and got no errors "uploading successful"

However, in Repetier Host I get an immediate error "Unhandled exception has occurred in your application...Access to the port COM4 is Denied" after Connecting.

I have gone to the Device Manager and updated FDTI Drivers.
Title: Re: Uploading Firmware to New X1 Board
Post by: Tyson on April 21, 2013, 08:18:39 AM

I had the same or similar error.  Also my first instinct was to update the FDTI drivers.

That wasn't the solution.   I had to reset something.  Maybe I just unplugged from USB and shut down Repetier, and plugged back in and restarted ... or I just did a reboot.   Then it worked fine.
Title: Re: Uploading Firmware to New X1 Board
Post by: Steps2light on April 21, 2013, 06:18:48 PM
Ok the reset and unplug did take care of that...So far I think I have uploaded the frimware correctly...now i am on to my next problem which is not in this category.
Title: Re: Uploading Firmware to New X1 Board
Post by: Steps2light on November 13, 2013, 05:00:33 AM
OK I am now on my 3rd board. I got the X3 for the original Bukobot that runs the X1. I got the X3 cause X1's are not in stock.

So should I download X3 or X1...I have the single extruder.

Where did the "Arduino Upload firmware" directions for the boards go?
Title: Re: Uploading Firmware to New X1 Board
Post by: whosawhatsis on November 13, 2013, 08:40:21 PM
You mean this? http://bukobot.com/software-to-install#about-printer-firmware

If you use the current firmware from https://github.com/whosawhatsis/Marlin/tree/Bukobot_config, it will automatically detect X1 vs. X3 based on which board you have selected in the Tools menu.
Title: Re: Uploading Firmware to New X1 Board
Post by: Steps2light on November 13, 2013, 09:10:11 PM
oh yes...thanks...I guess I didn't scroll to the bottom
Title: Re: Uploading Firmware to New X1 Board
Post by: Steps2light on November 14, 2013, 05:01:36 AM
ok...so I made it through the Arduino Upload.

Connected to Repetier

I am able to turn on the extruder and hot plate.

The fan and x,y,z motors do not move at all. I am using the same steppers from my original X1...are those OK?

I have the Z motors going into the same Z connection...that is OK right?

How is the fan supposed to turn on? is that in Repetier with the Fan Button or do I connect it inline with the power source connection as well like with the X1? I connected the fan to the Hot End 2.
Title: Re: Uploading Firmware to New X1 Board
Post by: Steps2light on November 14, 2013, 05:20:18 AM
On the Hot End 2 Driver Connections...do those 3 stems under the steppers need to be coupled?

And little confused on which way the motor wires connect....Does the red wire go in slot 2B or 1B?
Title: Re: Uploading Firmware to New X1 Board
Post by: jit on November 14, 2013, 08:00:29 AM
On the Hot End 2 Driver Connections...do those 3 stems under the steppers need to be coupled?

I am confused by your terminology.  "Stepper" is ambiguous without sufficient context;  try to use terms like "stepper motor" and "stepper driver board" and "stepper motor connector".  And I don't know what you mean by "stems".  A picture would certainly help.

The fan mounted on the front of each extruder should be on all the time, so connect it to 12 volts.  You can connect extruder fans to the 12V screw terminals on the Azteeg (where the power supply connects).  Apparently some models of Azteeg also have another place where you can connect it.
Title: Re: Uploading Firmware to New X1 Board
Post by: Steps2light on November 25, 2013, 09:25:30 PM
I am lacking in terminology and not finding a good place to tell me what some of these things are called....so explaining which items are a what is difficult.

At the moment I have no motor action....extruder and hot plate are on! Trying to figure out if there is something more to program? The Stepper stuff...I have no idea what I am talking about.

I have nothing plugged in or physically added to the 2nd extruder on the X3...so was wondering if something needed to be done there for my X1 running Bukobot.
Title: Re: Uploading Firmware to New X1 Board
Post by: jit on November 26, 2013, 05:26:24 AM
Okay.  This is what I have gathered so far:

You have a single-extruder Bukobot, but are using an Azteeg X3 controller.

When you look for documentation or ask for help, don't think about X1 any more.  You have X3.  You can consider yourself the owner of a Bukobot Duo, but with one extruder missing (and perhaps with a narrower frame).  You can continue to use the Printer Profile (in Slic3r) for the single-extruder Bukobot, because Slic3r doesn't distinguish between X1 and X3.

I am looking at this image:  http://bukobot.com/_detail/wiki:jitsbuild:azteeg-mounted.png?id=jitsbuild-wires (http://bukobot.com/_detail/wiki:jitsbuild:azteeg-mounted.png?id=jitsbuild-wires)

In this image, along the right side of the board there are five small driver boards, plugged into the top of the Azteeg.  If you peek under them, from the right, you should see three jumpers under each.  If you instead see pairs of gold posts where jumpers could be installed, the jumpers need to be installed.  Each pair of gold posts needs a jumper.   (See the picture in the next post.)

The pair of thick wires from the extruder heater connects to the screw terminals labelled H-END1 (along the top edge).

The pair of thin wires from the extruder thermistor plugs into the two gold posts labelled E0 (along the left edge).

The bundle of four wires from the extruder stepper motor plugs into the connector next to the driver board labelled EXTR1 (along the right edge).

The motor connector probably needs to be flipped over relative to the way it was on the X1.  If you don't remember which orientation you used before, it's easy to find out the correct way:  Try it.  If the motor turns the wrong way, flip the connector over.

To test the extruder motor, issue the M302 command through your host software and then tell the extruder to retract.  (If you currently have filament in the extruder, keep the filament away from the Tatsu drive gear by shifting the lever.)  If the Tatsu drive gear in the extruder rotates in the direction that would pull filament up and out of your extruder, then the connector is correct;  if it turns the other way, flip the connector over.
Title: Re: Uploading Firmware to New X1 Board
Post by: jit on November 26, 2013, 06:04:29 AM
Found a picture of the three jumpers (labelled MS3, MS2, MS1).  The driver board at one end has been pulled off and set aside so you can see the jumpers. (This is for the older driver boards, which are labelled "SD82A".  For the newer driver boards, which are labelled differently, see the next post;  they are jumpered differently.)

If any of these jumpers are missing, the motor should still turn but will do so at the wrong speed.  If nothing turns at all, then something else is wrong.

(If a driver board has no motor connected to it, then it doesn't matter if its jumpers are there or not.  And it doesn't matter if the driver board is there or not.)

Also:  Note the orientation of the wires plugged in, barely visible at the left.  Most motor connectors on X3 machines will probably be oriented this way, but exceptions have occurred.
Title: Re: Uploading Firmware to New X1 Board
Post by: whosawhatsis on November 26, 2013, 08:20:36 PM
With the new drivers, the jumper configuration is different. The X/Y/Z drivers are in 1/32-step mode and the extruders are in 1/8-step mode.

(https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/s/hfv51btngcjcdet/2013-11-26%2012.07.59.jpg?dl=1&token_hash=AAFJtfaGEW6MXqSrGCLZj0onBUzuHhcGHLcfMss2W51czQ)
Title: Re: Uploading Firmware to New X1 Board
Post by: Steps2light on November 30, 2013, 04:47:07 AM
ok...Im back on this.

So far I have the fan hooked up to the power supply...and its working.

Hot Plate and Extruder are working.

X and Y motors are not making a sound. They won't move manually or go to home.

Z only moves to home position...it won't move manually.

Rich....I tried your previous suggestion of taking 1 of the 3 steppers out...no movement in X and Y motors and the Z motor when moving to home did a high pitch squeal instead of moving.
Title: Re: Uploading Firmware to New X1 Board
Post by: Steps2light on November 30, 2013, 05:07:16 AM
Previously I used Port 4  for the X1, now I have to use Port 6....does this matter?
Title: Re: Uploading Firmware to New X1 Board
Post by: whosawhatsis on November 30, 2013, 11:24:45 PM
That high pitched squeal most likely means you forgot the microstepping selection jumpers.
Title: Re: Uploading Firmware to New X1 Board
Post by: Steps2light on December 02, 2013, 07:02:51 PM
What is a "microstepping selection jumper"? Is that the 2x8 pin replaceable bridge? I have 4 and they are in....except for the 5th which goes to the 2nd Extruder.
Title: Re: Uploading Firmware to New X1 Board
Post by: jit on December 02, 2013, 07:42:20 PM
The "microstepping selection jumpers" are the little black things that plug in under the driver boards.  There are pictures earlier in this thread;  see http://forum.bukobot.com/index.php?topic=2822.msg4598#msg4598 (http://forum.bukobot.com/index.php?topic=2822.msg4598#msg4598) and the post following that.  (The "driver boards" are the four or five removeable boards that each have two rows of eight pins.)

If you didn't get your Azteeg from Deezmaker, then it might not come with those jumpers in the correct places for your Bukobot.  Deezmaker ships Azteegs with the jumpers already set up properly.
Title: Re: Uploading Firmware to New X1 Board
Post by: Steps2light on December 03, 2013, 11:59:39 PM
I have put all 3 Microsteppers in and I have done the version with the above pic with 2 microsteppers. All 4 of the boards are installed from my original X1.

Is there an issue of using X1 boards on the X3?

So with the 3 microsteppers the only motor movement is Z Home. With 2 microsteppers...no movement and screeching.
Title: Re: Uploading Firmware to New X1 Board
Post by: Steps2light on December 09, 2013, 07:05:35 AM
Still no progress yet.

Does this make any sense in the bottom messages of Repetier.

Error 0
: Extruder Switched Off. MinTemp Triggered
Error : Printer Stopped due to Errors. Fix the Error and use M999 to restart!
Title: Re: Uploading Firmware to New X1 Board
Post by: Steps2light on December 09, 2013, 07:22:54 AM
Does Deezmaker got an X1 I can trade for an X3? We'll call it an even swap?
Title: Re: Uploading Firmware to New X1 Board
Post by: jit on December 09, 2013, 08:40:23 PM
I'm not convinced that swapping Azteegs will solve this problem.  There seem to be other things going on.

Look at what's printed on top of your four driver boards.  Look for the label for the board type (see the attached picture).  It might say "SD82A", or "SD8825" or something similar to that, or perhaps something else.  How are yours labelled?

Also:  Power down your Azteeg, then pull the E0 connector up far enough to insert ohmmeter probes under it and measure the resistance between those two gold posts.  What is that resistance?

Title: Re: Uploading Firmware to New X1 Board
Post by: Steps2light on December 11, 2013, 01:39:43 AM
I have the SD82A.

Are you pointing to the gold posts on either side of the "s" and "a" of SD82A? I get 6 Ohms. At the power source I get 18 ohms.
Title: Re: Uploading Firmware to New X1 Board
Post by: jit on December 11, 2013, 03:01:42 AM
I was referring to the gold posts in the position marked "E0" on the edge of the Azteeg board itself.  The pair of wires from your extruder thermistor should be plugged in there.

See attached image.  The purple arrow at the bottom edge of the image points to where the E0 connector plugs into the board.  Pull this connector up about 2mm, without disconnecting it.  With the Azteeg controller powered down, reach under the connector with the ohmmeter probes and measure the resistance between the two gold posts.  This is the easiest way to measure the resistance of the device that is connected there (which should be your extruder thermistor).

If this resistance really does measure 18 ohms, then you probably have something other than your thermistor plugged in there.  This would explain why you get an error message when you run the printer.

If you have the wrong thing plugged in there, then swapping to a different Azteeg controller will not help you!  You have to get the wiring correct.

------------------

This is a different issue:

If all four of your driver boards are labelled "SD82A", then I think you need to have all three microstepper selection jumpers installed under each driver board.  Whosawhatsis should confirm that this is correct for your configuration, and that you are using the correct firmware for that configuration.
Title: Re: Uploading Firmware to New X1 Board
Post by: whosawhatsis on December 11, 2013, 07:40:02 PM
If you have the SD82A drivers, you should have all of the jumpers populated and you need to comment out the line "#define DRV8825" in configuration.h.
Title: Re: Uploading Firmware to New X1 Board
Post by: Steps2light on December 13, 2013, 10:30:16 PM
Attached is my X3 if that helps anything.

I am not able to lift the E0 up enough to get my multimeter probes in there...(that is close to how i got in trouble in the first place).

So I measured the pins underneath the board and got 40ohms, I then switched the multimeter probes and got 70ohms.

The E0 Is hooked up to the Extruder.
Title: Re: Uploading Firmware to New X1 Board
Post by: Steps2light on December 13, 2013, 10:32:11 PM
What does this mean "comment out the line "#define DRV8825" in configuration.h." ?

Where do i put that in? Aruduino App?  Repetier Commands?
Title: Re: Uploading Firmware to New X1 Board
Post by: jit on December 13, 2013, 11:42:58 PM
Ahhh.  I see.  You have a different version of the X3, the one with screw terminals.  For that one, you can measure the resistance by touching the multimeter probes against the tops of the corresponding screw terminals (where the screwdriver fits).

Are you sure you are measuring ohms, and not kilo-ohms?  In any case, those numbers still look wrong to me.

Verifying that the E0 terminals are connected to the extruder is not enough;  there are multiple things on the extruder that have wires coming out!  Hopefully you don't have the fan wires connected there...

Does the fan on the extruder turn on when the Azteeg is powered up with 12 volts?
Title: Re: Uploading Firmware to New X1 Board
Post by: Steps2light on December 14, 2013, 11:38:20 PM
I have the fan connected to the power source....per my picture there are 2 sets of wires there....the Power Source and Fan wires.

I get 27 Ohms on the R x 10 setting...on the E0

Title: Re: Uploading Firmware to New X1 Board
Post by: whosawhatsis on December 15, 2013, 12:16:31 AM
What does this mean "comment out the line "#define DRV8825" in configuration.h." ?

Where do i put that in? Aruduino App?  Repetier Commands?

When you upload the firmware from the Arduino App, there's a list of files, and one of them is configuration.h. I put the only settings you'll want to mess with in the first few lines. One of them is "#define DRV8825", and you want to comment that out to disable it by putting "//" in front of it.
Title: Re: Uploading Firmware to New X1 Board
Post by: jit on December 15, 2013, 02:18:50 AM
Something is wrong here.  Better disconnect the wires from E0 and then measure those wires again.

On mine it measures thousands of ohms.
Title: Re: Uploading Firmware to New X1 Board
Post by: Steps2light on December 15, 2013, 05:45:39 AM
I did this and copy pasted it here...

so in Notepad on Configuration.h i added "//"..."//#define DUO//#define DRV8825"

#ifndef CONFIGURATION_H#define CONFIGURATION_H//#define DUO//#define DRV8825
//#define DIRECT_DRIVE_EXTRUDER

I saved it

Then went to Verify...and got Error Message.

"Error Compiling"
core.a(main.cpp.o): In function `main'"
C: Program
Files/Arduino/hardware/arduino/cores/arduino/main.cpp:5:
undifined reference to "setup'
C: Program
Files/Arduino/hardware/arduino/cores/arduino/main.cpp:15:
undfined reference to 'loop'


Title: Re: Uploading Firmware to New X1 Board
Post by: whosawhatsis on December 16, 2013, 09:13:33 PM
You lost your line endings somewhere. Each of those should be a separate line, like this:

#ifndef CONFIGURATION_H
#define CONFIGURATION_H

//#define DUO
//#define DRV8825
//#define DIRECT_DRIVE_EXTRUDER

That may or may not be the cause of the compiling error, but you'll have to fix that and try again. Probably best to download a fresh copy, as it likely broke other parts of the file too.
Title: Re: Uploading Firmware to New X1 Board
Post by: Steps2light on December 17, 2013, 05:03:21 AM
Still have no change.

Not sure if I am getting to file CONFIGURATION_H Correctly. What is the proper way to get there?

They only way I can get there is to Search for it on my computer and then press EDIT. Which I am not sure, when I recently downloaded if I reset it.

Through the Arduino App I cannot Edit Configuration_H. Are you supposed to? Perhaps I am not editing things in the correct area?"

I am finding 2 Sources for Configuration_H. One inside the Arduino App that does not give me the option to edit "//". The 2nd one I find is the one I search for in the SEARCH on my computer....where I did do the "//" edit and this gave me the error. Before this I uploaded the software no problem.
Title: Re: Uploading Firmware to New X1 Board
Post by: Steps2light on December 19, 2013, 07:38:46 PM
ok...I had some in person help on the Configuration.H and I think I am good. That was a little more involved than I thought. Learned about Sublime...a little easier to read than Arduino App.

Got the Z to move manually. I think now my wiring of the Drivers may not be right or connected properly. X and Y don't move at all That will be next for me.
Still not certain on which Color wire fits where? Finding too many ways on how the wires are supposed to be installed. Because I have the screw in to the board wires.
Title: Re: Uploading Firmware to New X1 Board
Post by: Steps2light on December 21, 2013, 06:54:35 AM
ok i swapped out each motor and it seems physical motors all work. Moved the boards around as well. The only consistent movement is from the Z motor connection. When all motors were swapped through the Z connection they all worked.

I think somewhere the software is not inline. When I did get a motor to move manually...instead of 1mm it went an inch.
Title: Re: Uploading Firmware to New X1 Board
Post by: Steps2light on December 23, 2013, 06:54:28 AM
SO I turned off "//" the DRV8825 Driver in Configuration.H   ...and I have SD82A. So do I need to turn on SD82A?

SHould I just buy 4 DRV8825 Drivers instead?
Title: Re: Uploading Firmware to New X1 Board
Post by: whosawhatsis on January 03, 2014, 10:46:00 PM
The settings for the SD82A are default. Turning off DRV8825 activates those settings.
Title: Re: Uploading Firmware to New X1 Board
Post by: Steps2light on January 04, 2014, 02:21:38 AM
I still have this problem.


When I did get a motor to move manually...instead of 1mm it went an inch.
Title: Re: Uploading Firmware to New X1 Board
Post by: whosawhatsis on January 07, 2014, 08:41:37 PM
The Z axis has a much higher steps/mm setting than the others, so if you were trying to move the X motor while it was connected to the X axis, you should expect it to move much farther than you told it to move.
Title: Re: Uploading Firmware to New X1 Board
Post by: Steps2light on January 22, 2014, 05:34:49 AM
I abandoned the X3...I could not trouble shoot how to hook it up.

I then got the Brainwave Board...because a local person created it...I thought they could help hook it up to the Bukobot...after 10 hours they could not.

So the X1 went on sale so I got it again. I hooked it up a year ago but I am not able to get it into the <Tools, <Board, menu in Marlin.

Previously whosawhatsis said this to Install the X1...

"You need to install the Sanguino support files included with Marlin.

Make sure you have the current version from here: https://github.com/whosawhatsis/Marlin/archive/Bukobot_config.zip

Go to the ArduinoAddons->Arduino_1.x.x folder, and copy the sanguino folder to the hardware folder inside your arduino sketchbook folder (you may need to create the hardware folder if it doesn't already exist). " 

 (I think i have tried this 10 different ways...I am not doing something right...and I don't get it)
There is SKETCH and SKETCHBOOK and ADD FILE...if I could have a clear path that would be great.

Is it possible for someone to breakdown step by step how to do this? I am a designer not a coder or file extracting Arduino expert...so if anyone can help that would be great! An updated step by step method of how to load firmware to the x1 board would be greatly appreciated.
Title: Re: Uploading Firmware to New X1 Board
Post by: whosawhatsis on January 24, 2014, 08:10:36 PM
It sounds like you're looking at the Arduino IDE's interface. You have to actually open the folder where Arduino stores its sketches using your computer's normal file browser (Finder on a Mac, I think the one on Windows is called Windows Explorer). In your documents folder, there should be a folder called "Arduino". That is where you need to put the hardware folder.

You really had Matthew Wilson helping you try to hook up a brainwave to 10 hours and still failed? I would be very interested to know what type of problems you two were having, as the Bukobot should not be any more difficult to connect to a controller board than any other printer.
Title: Re: Uploading Firmware to New X1 Board
Post by: Steps2light on January 24, 2014, 10:40:51 PM
ok...thanks I will try that out later...

Matthew Wilson was there, however not chief helper, I had 2 others that worked there help me....we got it to about 85% done.

The trouble was that we had to manually plug in the numbers specific to the Bukobot in the Arduino Coding. So we got some but not others. Seems the brainwave does not have the calibrating codes to just plug into a Bukobot. (and I am not really sure i am getting all this terminology straight).

When I last plugged in my X1 a year ago...it just went, no Arduino coding finessing....not so with the Brainwave.
Title: Re: Uploading Firmware to New X1 Board
Post by: whosawhatsis on January 25, 2014, 01:39:02 AM
You didn't need to manually plug in number. Marlin comes with a set of pin assignments for the brainwave, you just needed to tell it what board you were using (82).
Title: Re: Uploading Firmware to New X1 Board
Post by: Steps2light on January 31, 2014, 02:38:32 AM
82 was what we used. It was not enough. We had to add Bukobot's print space and add the specs of the threads and syncromesh for the Z axis in the Marlin coding. It got better.
Title: Re: Uploading Firmware to New X1 Board
Post by: whosawhatsis on February 02, 2014, 12:47:25 AM
You should have started with the version pre-configured of a bukobot, then changed the board number. That should be all that's needed.